Magnet News: Summer 2015

The Magnet's 30th Anniversary Reunion will be on Sunday, August 23rd @ noon in Gaithersburg, MD! RSVP Now!

Presidential Teaching Award: James Schafer was awarded a Presidential Award for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching! (press release) (Washington Post)

Student awards:

  • The Montgomery County ARML Team finished in 5th place nationally, and Mr. Walstein was there to celebrate the 40th anniversary of ARML with the team! The members of the A team from Blair were Dennis Zhao, Adam Busis, Sambuddha Chattopadhyay, Cynthia Liu, Eric Lu, Eric Neyman, Pratik Rathore, Dilhan Salgado, Anish Senapati, Mike Winer, David Wu, Annie Xu, and Victor Xu. Justina Yang of Yang Academy and Justin Park of Poolesville were also on the team.The all-freshman Intermediate Team won 3rd place at the 2015 ACSL All-Star Competition. The team from Takoma Park Middle School won 1st place!

  • A team of rising seniors won third place at the Maryland State Envirothon: Ben Geertsema, Alexander Liu, Yannie Mei, Anna Ou, and Angel Wen each won $200!

  • Sambuddha Chattopadhyay, Patrick Chao, Matthew Das Sarma, Jeremy Du, and Jesse Matthews won a total of 18 trophies at the Mu Alpha Theta National Conference in Salt Lake City, Utah. Their awards included first place trophies in the "Going the Distance" and "History of Math" competitions, and a team trophy in the interschool competition (pdf). The Moody's Foundation paid for the team's registration based on Blair's performance in the Mega Math Challenge.