Magnet Foundation News: Summer 2010

The Board of Directors elected new officers this spring.

    • In March, Nannette Dyas resigned from the Board of Directors.

    • In May, Susan Ragan was elected to the Board of Directors.

    • The Board of Directors has elected new officers:

      • President: Eileen Steinkraus

      • Vice-President: Ted Jou

      • Secretary: Susan Ragan

      • Treasurer: Dan Shepherdson

Thanks to the efforts of the Magnet community, the County's Magnet programs avoided major budget cuts for FY2010:

Money is still tight, however, and during the spring, the Board of Directors focused on fundraising:

    • In May, the Board met with a non-profit fundraising consultant.

    • At the end of the school year, the Board sent letters to graduating senior parents.

    • In June, the Harvard VCO Team provided the Foundation with a presentation on fundraising.

    • The Magnet Foundation paid the registration fees for the Montgomery County ARML Team.

Please consider making a donation to the Magnet Foundation.

2010 is the 25th Anniversary of the Magnet Program. If you are in the DC area and would like to help organize a Magnet Reunion, please contact