Magnet News: Spring 2013

Mr. Walstein is retiring at the end of the school year! We are gathering memories and other messages for Mr. Walstein in the Google form at the bottom of this page:

Photos of recent Magnet events are on Flickr:

Magnet students won several awards this spring:

    • Samuel Zbarsky '13 finished in 7th place as a Finalist in the Intel Science Talent Search and received a $25,000 award for his math research that could improve the efficiency of 3-D computer networks.

    • Thirteen students qualified as semifinalists for the U.S. Physics Team: Alexander Bourzutschky, Saurav Das, Jason Hyun, Diwakaran Ilangovan, Thomas Loomis, Eric Lu, Bob Ma, Charlie Pasternak, Jessica Shi, Michael Winer, Matthew Yu, Samuel Zbarsky, and Dennis Zhao. (pdf)

    • The Blair Robotics Team made it to the quarterfinals at the Pittsburgh and Chesapeake Regionals this year! Their mentor, Sharon Goodall, who is a member of the Magnet Foundation Board, won the Woodie Flowers Finalist award at the Pittsburgh Regional.

    • Audrey Shi '13 is a Presidential Scholar Semifinalist. (pdf)

    • The Blair team won first honorable mention in Moody's Mega Math Challenge with a prize of $2,500! Their paper was entitled Analysis of Plastic Waste Production and Recycling Methods, and you can read it online at the Moody's website. The members of the team were Alexander Bourzutschky, Alan Du, Tatyana Gubin, Lisha Ruan, and Audrey Shi.